Getting into FPS Games

Hi everyone,

I have never been into FPS games, probably because I can’t see my own feet in them. I started playing games in arcades, looking at 2D side-scrolling Beat-em-ups, vertical shoot-em-ups, brawlers. In home consoles, my first games were Dig Dug, Ice Climbers, Super Mario Bros., etc.

So that background pretty much ensured I always had a sprite on screen where I could see where I was, and I was maneuvering in the 2D environment. Gradually 2D platforming became 3D and I got kind of used to it. But I always needed to see my character. When FPS came about and got popular, it was just something I avoided. I think it was because I tried it briefly and got slaughtered a ton by other people, or maybe I made no progress, I can’t remember. But I put it down pretty quick. For years while the FPS scene was growing, I was burying myself in RPGs and the like, completely separate from the genre. I stuck to some simple platforming games too, and I still enjoy those to this day.

Recently I played Valley on Steam, and I had a great time. Probably because I could see my feet, it felt more natural. When I try to play other FPS games and i look down and see nothing but ground, it just feels weird. I really enjoy Ziggurat, but I often die when I am unable to do the platforming aspects of the game when it comes to FP perspective. I haven’t even beaten the game on Easy mode yet, not to mention Normal or Hard, or whatever else comes after.

I really think it has something to do being able to see my feet. I have been thinking left and right about it for quite a while not and that seems to be fairly accurate. I don’t know why, but when view down is just whatever is below me, it gives me a strange idea of where I am physically.