Obscure Advice needed: Wii Online

Hi all,

I have a rather specific, obscure but very important to me question.

In short; can you play og Wii games (specifically Wii Sports) online still? I have googled and I’m getting very mixed results, mostly very out of date, although some from after the 2014 shutdown of the proper full Wii Online service. Meanwhile, I’d like a definitive answer asap.

Why? My mother is 71. We’re in the UK and due to the Coronavirus, she’s self isolating. My mum was never one for games particularly, at least until her partner bought her a Wii when they were the new and exciting thing. We all took to it, even mum!

A few years later I took it a step further and got a Kinect for the Xbox. We now take practically every opportunity to have a games night where several of us get together (3 out of 4 of the usual participants are over 60, plus me) and play a round of Kinect Sports bowling, a round of Wii golf and, if we’re not too drunk by this point, a game of Kinect darts. We have a lot of fun and its a great way to spend time chilling out with music on in the background and beer, wine and plenty of snacks. This isolation destroys all chance of that. I have 2 primary school aged children and really need to be careful and stay away.

The current advice in the UK is that she should self isolate for 3 months. She lives nearby so I’ll be sorting out food and care package deliveries, but it would be absolutely fantastic if we could get a few games in to keep her occupied for a bit too.

I’m already racking up an Xbox Live account for her, but of course, that leaves one game from our roster missing. Sooo - does anyone have any idea or recent experience of whether you can still get connected for that somehow? I’ve never needed to try, as we’ve always met up for these events, and the current mixed reports are confusing me. Any help or info very gratefully received even if its just a flat ‘no, that won’t work’.

Cheers!

2 Likes