Mark's Music

I thought I’d start to share some of my original music, and this is my first topic:

Anatomy of a song.

This is a brief history of the creation of a song, for those curious to see the process. It involves the composing of the music, the writing of the lyrics (words, think of a poem), and the picking/composing of a melody line (the tones sung to the lyrics).

I’m primarily an instrumental musician (though I’ve sung backup harmony in various bands). I have a friend (stage name Jonathan Stars, so I’ll just call him Jon here) who’s a singer and musician (guitar). He’s spent his life in musical and comedic entertaining and has written over 100 songs. We talked in 2022 and decided to combine our musical talents and see if anything came of it.

I’ll briefly describe and present three audio versions of the evolution of the song, snapshots in the timeline of the process of collaborating to compose/write it. These three versions can be heard here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1_JTZaOHSsaOq91PBNHrtb-V22M-6z9Nn

1. Believe 1 Precursor.mp3 4/27/2022
    At my first visit to Jon’s home recording studio I played various things for him on his electric piano (he chose to record everything via the piano’s audio output cable so he could peruse the pieces later on). We had conversations about what I was playing while I played. In this piece I played him an exerpt from a tune I had composed in D major, and he quickly decided he would try to write song lyrics for it, and said the word “Believe” came to him as a title/theme.

2. Believe 2.2 V04.mp3 8/17/2022