I want to hear about your experiences playing VR space/flight sims!

I have an assignment to find out about people’s experiences playing VR games and/or space/flight simulators. Any Chronies want to chat or share a story or two?

3 Likes

Would you elaborate a little bit more on the nature of the assignment? It might help with people fashioning answers a bit. Personally I have very little experience with VR games. Though space/flight sims perhaps slightly more, but I think depending on the degree of detail to which you would need for putting into your project, the conversations may run a bit differently.

4 Likes

I’m primarily aiming to talk with folks who own a VR headset, but if you’ve ever played a VR game, or been interested in doing so, that’s enough!

3 Likes

What do you want to know exactly? The only VR game I’ve played that fits the topic is Elite Dangerous. It was a decent experience, much like a racing game it works pretty well in VR.

4 Likes

I’m primarily interested in hearing how you feel about (in your case) Elite: what you like about it, what changes you’d like, etc – especially compared to other VR games you’ve played.

Would you be up for a synchronous conversation sometime this week?

3 Likes

That depends. I don’t really have that much to say about anything VR nor do I have experience with newer headsets (OG Rift 2016 here).
Would it be something you plan on uploading anywhere or just your own curiousity?

4 Likes

This is an assignment for class, so I’ll take a few notes, but I won’t be uploading our conversation anywhere. I’m happy to share a summary of what I learn if you want though.

3 Likes

Alright I can have a chat, not that I think I’d be much help.

4 Likes

Don’t undersell yourself! I’ll send you a message to set up a time. And thanks!

4 Likes

I know @HappyCabbage has a lot of VR games…He might be able to help if he’s around…

4 Likes