Donations towards Video Game Preservation

I would love to see a feature on the site that allows some of the proceeds from a transactions to be donated to a Non-profit Video game Preservation organization. Being a preservationist myself I would be extremely eager to support this type of option!

5 Likes

that’s, not, how, GoG, works… :confounded:

5 Likes

Sorry if I seem ignorant Im no expert I just love DRM-Free games so I can actually own it. So if you’re correct then just my original post would be great! Thank you for the comment.

4 Likes

Sorry for my ignorance. Could you explain what video game preservation is? And why it is important/in danger?

4 Likes

No problem! :smiley: It’s mainly about making sure that games that are at risk of being lost forever are saved and preserved for future generations and to preserve the history of video games. I’ll link a very relevant and surprisingly even funny video that explains it better than I ever could. Some preservation projects even become museums to teach those about the history of video games. I hope my explanation wasn’t too long or complicated and thank you so much for the great question! I’m always happy to spread the word to anyone willing to listen. Haha

6 Likes
2 Likes

Also I forgot to say, while I consider it to be in danger many would say that’s an overstatement or its not that important. While I can see their points the fact is that the longer we wait the less likely we are to find intact versions of these games to preserve due to data corruption, disc rot and the limited lifespan of things like cartridge based media.

4 Likes

I feel I should also say I’m far from an expert and there are much more qualified and intelligent individuals that cover this topic. Another thing is what I described is just one type of Preservation there are also hardware and video game design documents used for the development of a game that are also being preserved.

4 Likes