Could anyone from the US, who has lived and worked abroad for 1-5 years, please answer some questions? (IN the description)

Hi :slight_smile:

My girlfriend is a nurse and I’m a disenchanted teacher. We’re curious about moving abroad, maybe Scotland or New Zealand, and we’d like to start by taking advantage of tier 2 VIsa status in the UK, which, we understand, is afforded to teachers and nurses, etc.

Could someone who is from the US here tell a little bit what it was like to move abroad and work? We read that tier 2 work visa-holders don’t owe American taxes, which is a game-changer for us because we make not a lot of money.

What was it like finding a place to stay abroad at while you were here in the US? Did you move with kids? We have an elementary schooler and 2 medium-sized dogs. How did employers view your work application? Did you run into administrative and/or logistical hurdles that you wish you had prepared for better, in hindsight?

Thanks for taking the time to read :slight_smile: Happy Wednesday, y’all.

7 Likes

Hey! So I have some experience with this. I can’t help with things like taxes in the UK, as I lived abroad in Australia for around 3 1/2 years. I didn’t have to worry about finding a place to live while in the US, but overall when researching a move to Edinburgh that unfortunately fell through (for now), I used rightmove.co.uk to look into properties.

Both of my children were born While I was living there (the first we went back to the US for, the second was born there). As far as moving, it was difficult, but just keeping them as clued in on the process (for being 3 and 1 anyways) was helpful. Flexibility is key, and I moved overseas when I was in my teens with my family as well, and just knowing what expectations I should have and watch for was helpful. It was also not earthshaking, as moving with kids wasn’t an issue.