Build Help

So, I have been playing on my laptop for 2 months now. But, now my dad said I can build my own PC! I have two builds, the difference being the CPU and the Motherboards. Could you please tell me which is better performance for the money?

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/LVWWTH

https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/GKZMYr

Thanks

2 Likes

if you go to Tomshardware http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/all.html?refine=builds and make a Build Help post there, you can get tons of super qualified assistance, especially if you fill in more detail, such as approx/max budget and gaming needs (type of games, resolution, upgradability, overclocking etc etc)
not saying you couldn’t do that here, but there are hundreds of experts over on Tomshardware that don’t mind helping and they live and breathe hardware to get best bang for your buck + they are also more than just “intel/Ryzen”/“green/red” fanbois, they give recommendations on performance+value/need, not hype or “like”
really good place imo for those sort of help and conversations in general

3 Likes

I’m not an expert but want to help if possible. They are pretty similar, however,

Benchmark: [Link to comparison ] (UserBenchmark: AMD Ryzen 5 1600 vs Intel Core i5-7400) For CPU. Let yourself see the difference.

As for the Motherboard, I’m not so sure. The Asus - STRIX B250F GAMING ATX LGA1151 Motherboard is probably best but again I am not an expert. Just by the greater bandwidth, I’m going by but there may be other factors for you to consider.

I know this is not what you want to hear and it really depends on your own circumstances but if you want to buy a PC with a longer life without needing to update in a few years, I’d swap that hard drive out and get yourself a Solid State Drive or at least get a small one for your operating system, leave the other one for everything else, overall it is pretty decent but I am still on a GTX 750ti, so what do I know… Nothing, that’s what.